Categories Menu

Please note - We've migrated our forums to Wordpress

Users with 0 posts have been deleted, existing users will need to create a new password. Sign up or sign in here.

W7 Upgrade Install

Home Forums Tutorials W7 Upgrade Install

This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Dino23 8 years, 2 months ago.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

Dino23
    Participant

What follows is by way of a comment on the TWT tutorial on this subject.

I have been using W7 Professional 64bit for two years, and have now reinstalled it for the second time.

On the first occasion, before SP1, this was done by a Custom install and reformat. This time I did a repair-install, taking about 2 hours rather than almost a day the first time. One other difference is that I now have SP1 installed, but the W7 disk does not.

From my reading, it seems that a repair-install would either require a disk which included SP1, or I would need to uninstall SP1 – and of course in the final update stage, reinstall it as well as all the subsequent updates. This would add quite a bit of time to the procedure. Alternatives might be to try to slipstream SP1 into W7, or to get a W7 disk with SP1 already installed.

When making (unattended install) disks for slipstreamed XP and Vista I had used nLite and vLite. Although apparently vLite is not suitable for W7, there is another program that is – RT Seven Lite. However it seems this is not suitable for this purpose. Here is a quote from a Windows forum: “You cannot use a slipstream Windows 7 installation disc to do a repair install with on a currently installed Windows 7 SP1.”

By chance in another forum I came upon a reference to the availability of free downloads of versions of W7 with SP1 as iso files. Here is the link: http://techdows.com/2011/07/download-windows-7-integrated-with-sp1-iso-official-direct-download-links.html.